Review | Best of Becca Blushed Radiance

Happy Fourth of July weekend for those of you in the States! Becca is a hot brand right now thanks to the beauty world’s obsession with all things #glow. I bought this kit in Seattle as a last-ditch effort to use up some of my Ulta points before we left for Japan. I’d been wanting to try Becca products for a while, but I already have a handful of highlighters, so I thought it would be fun to try a few different products from Becca rather than investing in a full-size product! The kit retails for $32.50 at Ulta. //

beccca2222

The kit comes with four products – Becca’s flagship product, which is their pressed shimmering skin perfector in Opal, backlight priming filter, shimmering skin perfector spotlight wand in Moonstone, and mineral blush in Flowerchild.

becca11
From top to bottom: Opal, Flowerchild, Backlight Priming Filter, Moonstone

I’ll cut to the chase – the pressed shimmering skin perfector was my least favorite! It was the product I was most excited to try, and I just wasn’t that impressed. I thought the texture was a little grainy, and it looked more glittery than glowy on my skin. Opal is also very gold, and I haven’t built up much of a summer tan yet, so the shade itself is a little too dark for my skin tone. This is one of those products that got tons of hype, and the first couple of times I used it I was blinded by the hype and thought it was the greatest highlighter I’d ever tried. Now that the novelty has worn off, I think it’s just an okay product.

The spotlight wand in Moonstone is fabulous. I love using this product with the L’Oreal Lumi Cushion foundation for a 5-minute makeup dewy glow! Moonstone suits my skintone much better than Opal, and the liquid has a much finer texture than the powder.

As you can see, I dropped the blush compact and shattered it a bit 😢 Flowerchild is a pinky-coral with gold shimmer. I don’t think this particular shade is anything special, but I do think it’s a universally-flattering shade, which is probably why it was chosen for the kit. The pigmentation and longevity are great! If I were to buy a full size blush from Becca, I think I’d get Sweet Pea or Lantana.

Finally, the primer. I wasn’t impressed. I liked how it looked on my bare skin in indoor lighting (outdoors it looked obviously shimmery), but once I applied foundation, it basically disappeared. I think this primer would work best for someone who wears sheer coverage foundation and naturally has smooth textured skin – it definitely emphasized my pores. I usually wear medium to full coverage foundation on a daily basis, so this product just isn’t for me!

Overall, I like the items in this kit, and I think it’s a great way to try out a few different products from Becca without splurging on expensive full size products. However, I don’t know that I would repurchase the full size of any of the products, at least in the shades that were in the kit – other than the liquid shimmering skin perfector in Moonstone, which I really liked! Have you used Becca cosmetics before? What are your favorites? Let me know in the comments!

img_1994

2 thoughts on “Review | Best of Becca Blushed Radiance

  1. Pingback: June Favorites

Leave a comment