Too Faced Chocolate Bar

 

       

Happy Tuesday everyone! It’s cloudy and mid-60s here in North Carolina and I’m anxiously waiting for Alex to come home!

Last night I picked up the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette at the PX ($42 at the PX, $49 at Ulta). I’d been wanting it for a while, but was iffy about purchasing it, since I already own the Naked 2 palette ($54 at Ulta with 12 cool-toned neutral shades) and about a million other neutral eyeshadows, but once I saw it in person, I couldn’t resist! There are 16 shades in the palette, including mattes (6) and shimmers (10). There’s a pretty wide variety of shades, including some purple, wine, champagne, and various shades of brown. Definitely more variety than my Naked 2. It’s also chocolate scented, just like the Chocolate Soleil bronzer ($30 at Ulta). The only way I can describe the scent is decadent – if it was edible, I would eat it. The shadows are super pigmented and soft (more so than my Naked 2), and I didn’t get any fallout.

I only have two complaints about this palette –

  1. The shadow names are not actually on the palette, they’re printed on a plastic insert that I will inevitably lose.
  2. There is no slot to hold a makeup brush. This isn’t a dealbreaker for me, but I usually keep my Sonia Kashuk 116 brush in my Naked 2 palette for ease of access, and it’s a slight inconvenience that I can’t do the same with this palette.

For my eye look today (I couldn’t get a good photo, sorry!) I’m wearing Marzipan on the lid, Champagne Truffle on the inner corner, White Chocolate on the brow bone, Salted Caramel as a transition shade, and Amaretto & Black Forest Truffle in the crease and outer corner.

For the rest of my face, I’m wearing ABH brow wiz in soft brown in my brows as usual, Urban Decay Big Fatty mascara, Clinique soft-pressed powder blusher in New Clover, Benefit Hoola bronzer, the highlighter in Lancome Blush Subtil duo in Pink Chic, and then two new products I also picked up at the PX and will review later – L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte foundation in 104 and L’Oreal Collection Privee lipstick in Julianne’s Nude.

 For shade comparison, here’s Urban Decay Naked 2 vs Too Faced Chocolate Bar:  

Xx

6 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bar

  1. meanjeanmakeup

    I don’t own any toofaced products but I am very tempted by this palette. Seems perfect for the everyday look with a pop of color

    Like

Leave a comment